Academic Year 2012–2013

It Doesn't Look Like Leonardo: Science, Connoisseurship, and Circumstance in the Attribution of Works of Art

Mon, Apr 15, 2013 (All day)
Speaker(s):

The Ubiquitous Exhibition: Magazines, Museums and the Reproducible Exhibition after World War II

Tue, Apr 9, 2013, 5:00 pm
Location: Wolfensohn Hall, IAS
Speaker(s):

Caravaggio: A Case Study in Art Historical Methodology

Mon, Mar 11, 2013, 5:00 pm
Location: 106 McCormick Hall
Speaker(s):

Why Art History Matters: Politics, Ethics and Objects

Fri, Mar 8, 2013, 5:00 pm to Sat, Mar 9, 2013, 9:30 am
Location: 106 McCormick Hall
Speaker(s):

How to Occupy an Image

Tue, Mar 5, 2013, 5:00 pm

Cosponsor: Institute for Advanced Study

Location: Wolfensohn Hall, IAS
Speaker(s):

Family Matters--The Strange Case of the 'Poetic Ideas' Scroll Attributed to Mi Youren and Sima Huai

Tue, Feb 12, 2013, 5:00 pm

Cosponsor: Tang Center for East Asian Art

Location: 106 McCormick Hall
Speaker(s):

The Aesthetic Turn: A New Concept of 'Theory of Art'

Mon, Feb 11, 2013, 4:30 pm

Cosponsor: Program in European Cultural Studies, Department of French and Italian

Location: 106 McCormick Hall
Speaker(s):

Up Close and Far Away: Artists, Memorialization and Uganda's Troubled Past

Mon, Dec 10, 2012, 5:00 pm

Cosponsor: Institute for Advanced Study

Location: Wolfensohn Hall, IAS
Speaker(s):

Impossible Design: Porsena's Tomb and French Visionary Architecture

Tue, Dec 4, 2012, 5:00 pm
Location: 106 McCormick Hall
Speaker(s):

The Empire of Things: Gifts and Gift Exchange in Late Antiquity, Byzantium, Early Islam, and Beyond

Wed, Nov 14, 2012 (All day)
Speaker(s):

Recognition: Theme and Meta-Theme in Northern Renaissance Art

Tue, Oct 23, 2012 (All day)

Cosponsor: Institute for Advanced Study

Speaker(s):